The Federal No Child Left Behind Act requires that states, school districts and schools be held accountable for ensuring that all students meet high academic standards. On time, daily attendance is a critical component of this educational process. New Mexico law dictates that:
- Students between the ages of five (5) and eighteen (18) years of age are mandated to attend public school, private school, home school, or a state institution.
- The Albuquerque Public School District reports habitual truants to the Children's Court Liaison office and to the State of New Mexico.
Report Absences: Call (505) 843-6400 and speak to their grade level secretary
Notes or phone calls should include:
- Student name and ID number
- Date/s of absence
- Reason for absence
- Parent signature
- Parent phone number
Failure to report an absence within 48 hours upon return to school will result in an unexcused absence.
When a student returns to school after an absence, he or she must follow the following procedure:
- Student must bring a note from a parent or guardian that includes the date(s) of absence, reason for the absence, and the telephone number of parent or guardian.
- The note must be presented to the grade level secretary within 48 hours of the absence.
- The grade level secretary will mark the absence appropriately on Synergy.
Students are entitled to make up work for all excused absences, including suspensions. The student is responsible for requesting make up assignments from their teachers and will have a period of time equal to the absence to complete the work. Teachers need 24 hours from the time of the request to compile assignments.
Excused & Unexcused Absences
Absences may be excused for the following reasons, with appropriate documentation:
- Doctor's appointment
- Death in the family
- Religious commitment
- Family emergency
- Diagnostic testing
- School or college visit
Family vacations are considered unexcused absences, and it is expected that the parents will schedule vacations when school is not in session.
The parent/guardian must notify the school in writing or by calling their grade level secretary regarding absences within 48 hours or the absence will be counted as unexcused. These protocols are in accordance with the notification procedure established by the school.
Parents will receive notifications of unexcused absences that are in keeping with New Mexico state law and Public Education Department regulations. School personnel will work with parents to design interventions to support students and families to improve attendance.
Excessive excused absences may result in further inquiry from the principal and request for additional documentation. Students who are signed out before the end of the instructional day, must have written documentation for their release (as defined under excused absences), or be subject to the consequence of a tardy.
- All field trips are considered extra-curricular.
- Students must follow eligibility requirements and have a minimum 2.0 GPA and no more than 1 "F" in a grading period to participate in a field trip.
- Eligibility is determined by previous 6-week report cards: not grade checks.
- Students are limited to ten Bulldog Absences per semester. Additional absences require administrative approval.
Teachers take accurate attendance every class period and will submit referrals for excessive absences according to the set procedure. The AHS Classroom Attendance Referral is part of the APS District approved individual school attendance plan.
Every teacher will review and post school attendance policies. It is a teacher’s professional responsibility to notify parents regarding students’ progress and attendance through iCue (by entering attendance) and via the classroom attendance referral form. The AHS Bilingual Education Office is available for translation support.
Parents of habitual truants (a student who has accumulated the equivalent of ten or more unexcused absences within a school year) will receive notification from APS in accordance with the district attendance policy, as posted in the APS Student Behavior Handbook.
If a student arrives to class after the last bell, they are to report to In School Suspension room. If they report to In School Suspension room within ten-minutes, they will receive a pass to go to class. Students who arrive after the ten-minute time frame will be held in In School Suspension room for the remainder of the period. They are still entitled to their work and are responsible for requesting it. Due to the high frequency of students arriving late in the morning, students will be allowed to attend the first period of the day with a pass. They must arrive within the first twenty minutes of class with the pass.
Students who report to In School Suspension room after the first ten minutes of class will remain in In School Suspension room. Be mindful, it takes three minutes to get to class from the portables to the Science Building.
- 1st Tardy: Warning
- 2nd Tardy: Lunch Detention
- 3rd-6th Tardy: Saturday School
- 7th Tardy: 1 day Student Success Center
- 8th Tardy: Suspension pending student conference
- Students should not be released from class during the first ten minutes or the last ten minutes of class. This includes all student aides.
- The only official Hall Pass is the student vest or student aide badge. Students who abuse the vest or badge will result in a loss of privileges.
- Students must remain in the zone fro which they are wearing the corresponding vest (i.e., green zone = green vest).
- Teachers are responsible for the vest(s) and the student-aide badges.
Albuquerque High School is a closed campus for all students. Students are not allowed to leave campus for any reason during normal school hours. Leaving campus without prior approval is an unexcused absence. Students will NOT be allowed in the parking lot during lunch or passing period. Students can leave campus only if they meet the following requirements:
- Early Arrival or Late Dismissal: students are required to have a sticker on their school ID indicating late arrival and early dismissal each semester. Only the principal’s secretary or Principal César Hérnandez will issue late arrival and/or early dismissal stickers.
- Administration Permission: Students must sign out and receive a pass from the appropriate grade level administrator or the school nurse, if they do not have a late arrival or early dismissal sticker.
- Lunch Time: Only Seniors are allowed off campus during lunch. Seniors must show a school ID to leave campus. Seniors without a school ID will not be allowed to leave campus.
Students who drive, please note: any violation of the closed campus policy will result in the loss of parking privileges.
Students and their parents/guardians have the responsibility to be aware of the school specific dress codes and to conform to those requirements. Refer to the APS Student Behavior Handbook for more information.
Shorts/skirts must be at least as long as finger-tips when arms are naturally extended.
Albuquerque High School expects student dress and grooming to reflect high standards of personal conduct so that each student’s attire promotes a positive, safe and healthy atmosphere within the school. Student dress may not present a health or safety hazard, violate municipal or state law, or present a potential for disruption to the instructional program.
Unacceptable clothing and accessories include, but are not limited to:
- Headgear (hairnets, bandanas, do-rags, headbands, etc.)
- Muscle shirts
- Attire or accessories that advertise, display or promote any drug, including alcohol or tobacco, sexual activity, violence, disrespect and/or bigotry towards any group are not acceptable.
- Gang-related attire including gang affiliated colors and in-memory of shirts
- Tight or revealing clothes, short shorts or skirts, bare midriff, low-cut and/or off-the-shoulder blouses, spaghetti straps, sleeveless undershirts, spiked jewelry, chains, belts with more than 2 inches excess
- Pants worn in a manner that allows underwear to show are prohibited
Unacceptable, inappropriate clothing and accessories may not be worn in any school building or classroom by any student, regardless of gender.
Has Your Address or Number Changed?
The school wants to be sure that you receive report cards and other school mail. Your child also risks being disenrolled if you cannot provide proof that at least one parent lives within the Albuquerque High School District. We cannot change your address in our database without proof of residence.
Valid proof of your new address is one or more of the following:
• your Albuquerque Gas & Electric bill
• your lease/rental agreement showing your physical address
• a page from your closing papers (if you purchased a home)
This information will inform us whether you live within district boundaries. Please bring, or have your child bring, to the Attendance Office or Registrar proof of your current physical address so that we can change the address or phone number in the school computer.